Official Site of the first ever successful Citizen's Initiative Victory followed by an HST Referendum Victory

Part of the YES side argument


Part of the YES side argument is that 1 million more people are projected to move into the GVRD, of this 1 million people 60% according to the plan will live outside the Vancouver area, as the transit outside the Vancouver area is the worst part of this transit system now and will still remain the worst with a yes vote, that means 600,000 more people will need to commute by vehicle, how is this transit system going to improve congestion with this being projected. How is 3.5 Billion being spent on a subway system in Vancouver going to help the 600,000 people moving anywhere but Vancouver? Over 1/2 the population of the GVRD live outside the Vancouver area and are forced to either spend two to four hours a day using transit now, or drive so they have time to spend with their families, just think what it will be like for these same people who live outside the Vancouver area with another 600,000 people added to the mix and very limited transit improvements to the greater GVRD!

Share on Facebook

Congestion tax – winning numbers?


Greenway Legal has an opinion about the Congestion Tax . . .
“Now, even a millionaire in his dreams has to exercise some fiscal prudence, so it is highly unlikely that I’ll be buying my dream yacht anywhere within Metro Vancouver. Why should I shell out an extra $5000 for transit when number two on my wish list is a shiny new Mercedes-Benz (black) with all the bells and whistles? No Sir, when I win the big one, I ain’t going anywhere near public transit. But where am I going to buy my new hot wheels? Certainly not within the catchment area of the half percent solution, why the money I’d waste would be enough to buy a crate of Grand Cru wine (#15 on the list).”

Read the entire article here: Congestion tax – winning numbers?

Share on Facebook

TransLink earns Lifetime Achievement Award for a decade of waste, tax hikes


When you waste tax dollars this badly, Canadian Taxpayers’ Federation gives you a Teddy Award.

FYI, The Canadian Taxpayers Association is backing the NO side as well.

Share on Facebook supports the NO side of the Transit & Transportation Plebiscite


#JustSayNO to this transit and transportation plebiscite. This website is absolutely against increasing taxes to fund a broken system while our Provincial Government continues to give more and more tax breaks to Corporations and the wealthy. All financing can easily be raised to fix this transit system by forcing Corporation and the wealthy in BC to pay their fair share of taxes.

Dana Larsen of SensibleBC said it best in a comment responding to Bill Tieleman’s aggressive promotion of a lower mainland Translink Tax Grab:

“This whole transit referendum is a scam. It’s fake democracy so Christy Clark can underfund transit and claim it’s a democratic decision. Do we citizens get to vote on any other aspect of government policy or spending? Nope.

202,085 people signed for a referendum to decriminalize cannabis, but we got ignored. Who asked for a referendum on transit?

How about a vote on whether we want to lower taxes on the richest people in the province, which Christy Clark is doing. Cancel that tax break and we’ve got money for transit. Decriminalize cannabis and we’ve got money for transit. This transit referendum is a sham.”

Dana Larsen
Sensible BC

Share on Facebook




  • Email the Prime Minister of Canada
  • Email the Governor General of Canada
  • MP Letter Template
  • Prime Minister Letter Template
  • PROVINCIAL MLA LIST (by riding)
    Abbotsford South John van Dongen
    Abbotsford West Mike De Jong
    Abbotsford-Mission Randy Hawes
    Alberni-Pacific Rim Scott Fraser
    Boundary-Similkameen John Slater
    Burnaby North Richard Lee
    Burnaby-Deer Lake Kathy Corrigan
    Burnaby-Edmonds Raj Chouhan
    Burnaby-Lougheed Harry Bloy
    Cariboo North Bob Simpson
    Cariboo-Chilcotin Donna Barnett
    Chilliwack John Les
    Chilliwack-Hope Barry Penner
    Columbia River-Revelstoke Norm MacDonald
    Comox Valley Don McRae
    Coquitlam-Burke Mountain Douglas Horne
    Coquitlam-Maillardville Diane Thorne
    Cowichan Valley Bill Routley
    Delta North Guy Gentner
    Delta South Vicki Huntington
    Esquimalt-Royal Roads Maurine Karagianis
    Fort Langley-Aldergrove Rich Coleman
    Fraser-Nicola Harry Lali
    Juan de Fuca John Horgan
    Kamloops-North Thompson Terry Lake
    Kamloops-South Thompson Kevin Kreuger
    Kelowna-Lake Country Norm Letnick
    Kelowna-Mission Steve Thomson
    Kootenay EastBill Bennett
    Kootenay West Katrine Conroy
    Langley Mary Polak
    Maple Ridge-Mission Marc Dalton
    Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows Michael Sather
    Nanaimo Leonard Krog
    Nanaimo-North Cowichan Doug Routley
    Nechako Lakes John Rustad
    Nelson-Creston Michelle Mungall
    New Westminster Dawn Black
    North Coast Gary Coons
    North Island Claire Trevena
    North Vancouver-Lonsdale Naomi Yamamoto
    North Vancouver-Seymour Jane Ann Thornwaite
    Oak Bay-Gordon Head Ida Chong
    Parksville-Qualicum Ron Cantelon
    Peace River North Pat Pimm
    Peace River South Blair Lekstrom
    Penticton Bill Barisoff
    Port Coquitlam Mike Farnworth
    Port Moody-Coquitlam Ian Black
    Powell River-Sunshine Coast Nicholas Simons
    Prince George-Mackenzie Pat Bell
    Prince George-Valemount Shirley Bond
    Richmond Centre Rob Howard
    Richmond East Linda Reid
    Richmond-Steveston John Yap
    Saanich North and the Islands Murray Coell
    Saanich South Lana Popham
    Shuswap George Abbott
    Skeena Robin Austin
    Stikine Doug Donaldson
    Surrey-Cloverdale Kevin Falcon
    Surrey-FleetwoodJagrup Brar
    Surrey-Green Timbers Sue Hammell
    Surrey-Newton Harry Bains
    Surrey-Panorama Stephanie Cadieux
    Surrey-Tynehead Dave Hayer
    Surrey-WhalleyBruce Ralston
    Surrey-White Rock Gordon Hogg
    Vancouver-Fairview Margaret MacDiarmid
    Vancouver-False Creek Mary McNeil
    Vancouver-Fraserview Kash Heed
    Vancouver-Hastings Shane Simpson
    Vancouver-Kensington Mabel Elmore
    Vancouver-Kingsway Adrian Dix
    Vancouver-Langara Moira Stilwell
    Vancouver-Mount PleasantJenny Kwan
    Vancouver-Point Grey Gordon Campbell
    Vancouver-Quilchena Colin Hansen
    Vancouver-West End Spencer Herbert
    Vernon-Monashee Eric Foster
    Victoria-Beacon Hill Carole James
    Victoria-Swan Lake Rob Fleming
    West Vancouver-Capilano Ralph Sultan
    West Vancouver-Sea to Sky Joan McIntyre
    Westside-Kelowna Ben Stewart

  • Will you vote NO or YES in the Transit and Transportation Plebiscite?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Where should the BC Liberals seek money to fix Translink?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...